Who is the King of IPL?

IPL is probably the most successful T20 league in the world as players from all countries of the world come together and play the shortest format of the game. Cricket is an emotion in India and the league is an amazing way for Indian cricket enthusiasts to see all their favourite players from all the different parts of the world play the game together.

Over the years, hundreds and hundreds of players have played the game and currently, there are 10 franchises that play the game. The glamorous game of cricket has seen multiple players who have ruled the game and have been considered cricket. Players such as MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, David Warner, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and many others have demonstrated outstanding performances over the years however, a lot of players are interested in knowing who is the king of IPL.

In this article, we are going to talk about the players who are considered to be the king of IPL over the years.

Outstanding Players Known as the King of IPL

While many people consider Virat Kohli to be the king of the IPL, there are many other players who can be considered the King of the league. Virat Kohli is the highest run scorer of the league but, you need to know about all the players who have established milestones in the league.

  1. Virat Kohli

The former Indian captain, Virat Kohli is one of the best batsmen of the generation. This greatness is also carried into the league where the batsman is currently the highest scorer of the league with 6076 runs to his name.

The batsman is the only batter who has scored more than 900 runs in one single season of the league however, his team RCB has never been able to win a single title which makes his entire IPL career incomplete.

  •       Runs Scored in IPL: 6079
  •       IPL Title as a player: 0
  •       IPL title as a captain: 0
  •       Orange Caps: 1


  1. Rohit Sharma

The current Indian Capitan Rohit Sharma can also be considered the king of IPL as he has the highest win percentage as a captain in the league at 59.82. The batter is currently the opening batsman of Mumbai Indians and is one of the five batters who have scored more than 5000 runs in the league. As the MI skipper, Sharma has won 5 titles and has one more to his name as a player of the Deccan Chargers.

  •       Runs Scored in IPL: 5480
  •       IPL titles as a player: 9
  •       IPL titles as a captain: 5
  •       Orange Caps: 0


  1. MS Dhoni

The next player who is like an enigma for IPL as the captain of Chennai Super Kings and one of the best captain in the world, MS Dhoni. Under his skilled leadership, CSK has also won 5 titles, two of which were consecutive. Dhoni’s record as a captain is outstanding and he is often considered to be the IPL king.

  •       Runs Scored in IPL: 4669
  •       IPL titles as a player: 5
  •       IPL titles as a captain: 5
  •       Orange Caps: 0

Read also: Unveiling the Ultimate Online Cricket Experience with Lotus365

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button